How to Remove an iCloud Account From Your iPhone or iPad


If you are looking to recycle or trade-in your Apple device with us here at WeBuyTek, it is essential to back your data up and then remove your iCloud account prior to sending. This will then ensure your device can be processed efficiently and without delay.

What is an iCloud Account?

Apple iCloud is a service that allows Apple users to safely store data such as photo’s, passwords, apps, and documents, on the cloud, which can then be accessed on any time using the same Apple ID.

iCloud is built into every Apple device and includes a free email account and 5GB of storage free of charge. More storage is available, however there is often a charge for this.

To set up an iCloud account, simply create an Apple ID and register your email address, where you will then be able to customise your account, adding as many Apple devices as you like to the same Apple ID.

All data stored in iCloud is secure as this is encrypted and requires a two-factor authentication to access your account.

How to Back Up Your iPhone or iPad

So you’ve decided to trade-in your new, used or faulty Apple device with us at WeBuyTek. To ensure you don’t lose any of you precious data before restoring, it is always a good idea to back up your account. This is easy to do and can be done the following way:

  • Go to Settings then select your name at the top
  • Select iCloud then iCloud Backup
  • Turn on iCloud Backup. This will then automatically back up your iPhone or iPad when it is connected to Wi-Fi.
  • Next perform a manual Backup by selecting Back Up Now.

You can also view all of you iCloud backups within Settings. Simply select settings, your name, iCloud, Manage Storage, Backups, and then you can delete, and choose a backup from the list.

How to Remove Your iCloud Account From your iPhone or iPad

With your data backed up, you can then remove your account from your device.

  • Go to Settings then select your name at the top
  • Scroll down to the bottom to Sign Out
  • Entre your Apple ID password and select Turn Off
  • Select Sign Out to confirm.

Once complete, your iCloud account will then be removed from your device.

How to Factory Restore and Remove all Data

The final thing to do with your iPhone or iPad before you send it over to us here at WeBuyTek, is to factory restore the device back to factory settings. Again, this is straight forward and easy to do.

  • Go to Settings, then scroll down to General
  • Scroll down to the bottom to Transfer or Reset iPhone
  • Select Erase All Content and Settings
  • Confirm the Erase

During this process your iPhone or iPad will power off and once complete will then power back on to show the welcome screen.

How to Remove an iCloud Account Remotely

An alternative method to remove your Apple iCloud account and remove all data is to do this remotely online. To do this follow the below:

  • Sign in to your iCloud account at www.icloud.com
  • Select the device from the “Find My iPhone” device list by clicking “All Devices” at the top of the screen
  • Erase the device by clicking the “Erase button”. This will erase all content and settings from the device. When prompted, do not enter a phone number or message. Do not click Next until the device is erased
  • When the erase is complete, click “Remove from Account” to remove the device from the account

Once you have removed your iCloud account, you are then ready to trade in your device. Head over to our website and simply select your iPhone or iPad model to see how much your device is worth! Happy with our price offered, it’s then time to complete the booking and post us your device for same day payment!

Posted on Tags

© 2024 WEBUYTEK ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.